Who's Who

Who’s who – our church officers

Our Minister

Rev Rachel Wilson BA MTh is our Minister. She recently completed a probationary period as assistant minister at Maxton and Mertoun linked with Newtown linked with St Boswells where she gained much experience in all aspects of ministry and served effectively. Her first degree was a BA(Hons) in Theology and Religious Studies from Manchester University in 1995 and she gained a Masters in Theology and Religious Studies at Edinburgh University in 2017 as part of her ministry training.  Before entering the ministry, her work included sales consultancy and being on the staff of the Berwick Citizens Advice Bureau.

She is married to Graeme and they have two teenage children.  They have lived at Westruther for many years where Rachel was much involved in the church as a lay preacher and in running a youth group and a choir.

Should you need to contact her on any pastoral matter, her telephone number is 01450 870874.

The Kirk Sessions of Hobkirk & Southdean and Ruberslaw

The aim of both Kirk Sessions is to provide services with a broad range of appeal and to keep the Kirk at the centre of social life in the parish, and you are very warmly invited to attend any of our services or functions. Supporters – no matter how irregular their attendance – should ask for their names to be added to the membership role, which gives the right to vote at congregational meetings and ensures visits and pastoral support from the area Elder.  Anyone confirmed in another church can become a member by resolution of the Session, as may “lapsed” members of the Church of Scotland whose lines lie with another kirk. Enquirers’ get-togethers are arranged from time to time by the minister for those wishing to learn more about the teaching of the church and it’s relevance to the modern world.  We hope to see you soon!

Session Clerk Mr. David McFayden – (01450) 860692
Roll-keeper  Mrs. Janet Griffiths – (01450) 860306
Treasurer Mrs. Janet Griffiths – (01450) 860306
Fabric Committee Chair (To be confirmed)

Session Clerk Mrs. Alison Henderson (01450) 870632
Mrs. Catherine Douglas (01450) 374708
Treasurer Mrs. Christine Rodger (01450) 870054
Fabric Committee Chair Mrs. Wendy McLean (01450) 870376

Editor, Joint Parish News and Webmaster: Mr. Alan Dowler-Smith (01450) 860311